McDuffie County Departments

Planning & Zoning

The McDuffie County Planning Commission was established by the McDuffie County Board of Commissioners in the spring of 1986 to promote the health, safety, morals, and general welfare of the residents of McDuffie County and the City of Thomson through their ability to provide adequate infrastructure, police, fire, and other emergency services; and to promote orderly growth through the implementation of land use, building, and other associated regulations.

In January of 1989 the City of Thomson contracted with McDuffie County to have the county Planning Commission perform certain customary planning and zoning functions for the city. Any issues or inquiries related to planning and zoning in the City of Thomson should be directed to the McDuffie County Planning Commission as addressed above. A partial listing of code and ordinance administration for each jurisdiction is contained in the “PLANNING” section of this website.

It is the intent of the Planning Commission office, staff, and Board to assist residents and developers in effectively and efficiently complying with the development and building requirements; to monitor and enforce the planning, land development, and building provisions for McDuffie County and the City of Thomson in order to provide for orderly and efficient growth within McDuffie County and the City of Thomson. The Planning Commission serves as a core contact where residents and developers may receive information addressing land development, building and planning related issues, receive pertinent information, applications, distribution of plans and applications to other associated departments, and obtain reviews, permits and inspections. 

This web site is not designed or intended to be comprehensive but to give those visiting the web site general information relating to the subject matter. The information contained herein is subject to change at any time without prior notice. In reviewing the information contained in the Planning Commission section of the web site, should you have any questions or need additional information, please contact the appropriate staff member referenced below.

-----------------------

ANNOUNCEMENT OF 2019 MEETINGS
McDuffie County Planning Commission
Location: Room 1119, 210 Railroad Street, Thomson, GA 30824

All times are: 6:30 P.M.

ALL DOCUMENTS MUST BE SUBMITTED THIRTY (30) DAYS PRIOR TO MEETING!

Tuesday

February 5, 2019

Tuesday

March 5, 2019
Tuesday April 2, 2019
Tuesday May 7, 2019
Tuesday June 4, 2019
Tuesday July 2, 2019
Tuesday August 6, 2019
Tuesday September 3, 2019
Tuesday October 1, 2019
Tuesday November 5, 2019
Tuesday December 3, 2019

Should you have any questions concerning these meetings, please call the Planning Commision at 706-595-5355.

 

 

ANNOUNCEMENT OF 2019 MEETINGS 

City of Thomson Planning Commission

Location: Room 1119, 210 Railroad Street, Thomson, GA 30824

All times are: 6:30 P.M.

 ALL DOCUMENTS MUST BE SUBMITTED THIRTY (30) DAYS PRIOR TO MEETING!

Thursday February 28, 2019
Thursday March 28, 2019
Thursday April 25, 2019
Thursday May 23, 2019
Thursday June 27, 2019
Thursday July 25, 2019
Thursday August 22, 2019
Thursday September 26, 2019
Thursday October 24, 2019
Thursday Novemeber 28, 2019
Thursday December 26, 2019

 

 

 

 

 


James Crawley

Chief Building Official
Phone: 706-595-5355
Email: jhcrawley@thomson-mcduffie.net

Send an Email